Community Webinar: Cassandra 2.0: Better, Faster, Stronger
Date(s) - October 2, 2013
Time -
4:32 pm

Title: Cassandra 2.0: Better, Faster, Stronger

Date: Thursday, October 2nd

Time: 9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST

Duration: One hour

Details: Apache Cassandra 2.0 is out – now there’s no reason not to ditch that ol’ legacy relational system for your important online applications. Cassandra 2.0 includes big impact features like Light Weight Transactions and Triggers. Do you know about the other new enhancements that got lost in the noise. Let’s put the spotlight on all the things! Changes in memory management, file handling and internals. Low hype but they pack a big punch. While we were at it, we also did a bit of house cleaning. Join us to understand why you will want to go big with Cassandra 2.0.

Speaker: Patrick McFadin, Chief Evangelist at DataStax

Prior to working for DataStax, Patrick was the Chief Architect at Hobsons, an education services company. His responsibilities included ensuring product availability and scaling for all higher education products. Prior to this position, he was the Director of Engineering at Hobsons which he came to after they acquired his company, Link-11 Systems, a software services company. While at Link-11 Systems, he built the first widely popular CRM system for universities, Connect. He obtained a BS in Computer Engineering from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo and holds the distinction of being the only recipient of a medal (asanyone can find out) for hacking while serving in the US Navy.